Chelsea’s best honoured


THE ROYAL Horticultural Society (RHS) has awarded 73 prestigious RHS Gold Medals at this year’s RHS Chelsea Flower Show, sponsored by M&G Investments, and even included a top prize for the sponsors themselves.

A total of 117 medals were awarded to the gardens and floral exhibitors in the Great Pavilion, which also included 30 Silver-Gilt Medals, 13 Silver Medals and one Bronze Medal.

The RHS Chelsea Flower Show sponsors’ The M&G Garden was awarded their 6th Gold Medal and scooped Best Show Garden. Showcasing ecological sustainability based on the unique environment of Malta, the garden designed by James Basson also received the coveted Best Construction Award making it the second year running for contractors Crocus.

James Basson, The M&G Garden designer says: “I am absolutely thrilled to have won Best in Show for the first time at the RHS Chelsea Flower Show. It is an incredible feeling and a testimony to the hard work of the whole team, including Crocus and my wife Helen, and I am very grateful to M&G for its support.”

Show Garden Judging Panel Chair, James Alexander-Sinclair comments: “The garden is faultless and outstanding in terms of both construction and attention to detail.”

Kate Gould’s City Living garden, representing an urban apartment block and how to innovatively use space in an urban context, won Best Fresh Garden. Meanwhile Best Artisan Garden was awarded to Walker’s Wharf Garden supported by Doncaster Deaf Trust, by designer Graham Bodle.

A total of 61 Gold Medals were awarded to nurseries and growers at the heart of the show in the Great Pavilion, without any Bronze medals in sight. The Diamond Jubilee Award for the best display was presented to Penberth Plants for their ‘A reflection of Penberth – A Cornish Garden’ and New Design Award was given to Raymond Evison Clematis. The South African National Biodiversity Institute – Kirstenbosch stand received the popular President’s Award, while David Austin Roses Ltd, Cayeux Iris and Waterside Nursery were among the Gold Medal winners.