Croatia, Bulgaria and Romania ready to join Schengen

Croatia, Bulgaria and Romania ready to join Schengen
Croatia, Bulgaria and Romania ready to join Schengen. Image: An Mazhor/

The three countries could finally be part of the European Union according to the EU commission 

A new statement issued by the European Union commission states that Croatia, Bulgaria and Romania are ready to be a part of the passport free Schengen area. This announcement was made on Wednesday, November 16, according to Euronews. The EU commission has stated that the three countries have strongly proven that they meet all the required criteria’s to be a part of the EU zone.  

“It’s high time to say welcome,” said Ylva Johansson, the EU’s home affairs commissioner, said on Wednesday. She made this statement while unveiling a new report that argues in favour of the three countries. Johansson further added, “Schengen is Europe. These three member states deserve to feel fully European”.  

Discussing the long journey for the three countries to be a part of the EU, Johansson said, “The wait has been long, I should say, too long. Expectations are high, rightly so, from authorities but not at least citizens”, the report adds.    

The European Commission’s unwavering support comes ahead of the crucial conference of interior ministers in December, where the subject of Schengen membership will be revisited. 

Thank you for taking the time to read this article, do remember to come back and check out the EuroNews247 website for all your up-to-date European news stories.