Russia bans Ireland Prime Minister

Irish PM Micheál Martin

Ban also imposed on 51 other Irish politicians for starting an anti-Russian propaganda campaign   

The Russian government have announced a ban on the entry of 52 politicians from Ireland. According to a report from Euronews on Thursday, November 17, Russian authorities have accused Ireland government of carrying an anti-Russian propaganda campaign. 

The ban has also been imposed on the Irish Prime Minister Micheal Martin, the report said. Aside from him, other banned from the Ireland government include Deputy Prime Minister Leo Varadkar, the foreign, justice and finance ministers and several other parliamentarians.  

The report states, this action by the Russian government was a symbolic move against prominent political figures who have condemned the war in Ukraine. In February 2022, Ireland joined the European Union sanctions Russia for the invasion of Ukraine.  

The two countries have also expelled some diplomats, some of each other diplomats, the report adds.  

  • Thank you for taking the time to read this article, do remember to come back and check out the EuroNews247 website for all your up-to-date European news stories.