Nominees for the 2022 European Film awards shortlisted by the European Film Academy

Nominees for the 2022 European Film awards shortlisted by the European Film Academy
Nominees for the 2022 European Film awards shortlisted by the European Film Academy. Image: AlexanderTrou/

Three films including Triangle of Sadness, Close and Holy Spider were nominated in four different categories

The best of the European Films will take centerstage at the ·5th European Film Awards as the European Film Academy announced the nominees for its main categories. According to a report from Euronews, the nominations were finalized on Tuesday, November 8, with three films competing for the Best European Film award.

This includes Triangle of Sadness by Swedish director Ruben Östlund, Close by Belgian director Lukas Dhont, and Holy Spider by Iranian-Danish director Ali Abbasi.  Another two films that have also been nominated includes Alcarràs by the Catalonian-Spanish director Carla Simón and Corsage by the Austrian director Maria Kreutzer.  

The next step before choosing the winners will be a vote between 4,400 members of the European Film Academy. The winners will be announced on December 10, during the European Film Awards ceremony which this year takes place in the Icelandic capital of Reykjavík. 

Aside from this, according to the report, the European Lifetime Achievement award will be awarded to German director Margarethe von Trotta. The Palestinian filmmaker Elia Suleiman will be receiving the award for European Achievement in World Cinema.  

The Academy also announced the inauguration of a ´Month of European Films´, which consists of a showcase of European cinema. This event is scheduled to take place a month prior to the award ceremony across various venues in 35 cities including arthouse theatres.   

The full list of nominations are as follows: 

Best European Film: 

  • Alcarràs directed by Carla Simón (Spain/ Italy) 
  • Close directed by Lukas Dhont (Belgium/ France/ Netherlands) 
  • Corsage directed by Marie Kreutzer (Austria/ Luxembourg/ Germany/ France) 
  • Holy Spider directed by Ali Abbasi (Denmark/ Germany/ Sweden/ France) 
  • Triangle of Sadness directed by Ruben Östlund (Sweden/ Germany/ France/ United Kingdom) 

Best European Documentary: 

  • A House Made Of Splinters directed by Simon Lereng Wilmont (Denmark/ Sweden/ Finland/ Ukraine) 
  • Girl Gang directed by Susanne Regina Meures (Switzerland) 
  • Mariupolis 2 directed by Mantas Kvedaravičius (Lithuania/ France/ Germany) 
  • The Balcony Movie(Film Balkonowy) directed by Paweł Łoziński (Poland) 
  • The March On Rome (Marcia su Roma) directed by Mark Cousins (Italy) 

Best European Director: 

  • Lukas Dhont for Close 
  • Marie Kreutzer for Corsage 
  • Jerzy Skolimowski for Eo 
  • Ali Abbasi for Holy Spider 
  • Alice Diop for Saint Omer 
  • Ruben Östlund for Triangle Of Sadness 

Best European Actress: 

  • Vicky Krieps in Corsage 
  • Zar Amir Ebrahimi in Holy Spider 
  • Léa Seydoux in One Fine Morning 
  • Penélope Cruz in Parallel Mothers 
  • Meltem Kaptan in Rabiye Kurnaz Vs. George W. Bush 

Best European Actor: 

  • Paul Mescal in Aftersun 
  • Eden Dambrine in Close 
  • Elliott Crosset Hove in Godland 
  • Pierfrancesco Favino in Nostalgia 
  • Zlatko Burić in Triangle Of Sadness 

Best European Screenwriter: 

  • Carla Simón & Arnau Vilaró for Alcarràs 
  • Kenneth Branagh for Belfast 
  • Lukas Dhont & Angelo Tijssens for Close 
  • Ali Abbasi & Afshin Kamran Bahrami for Holy Spider 
  • Ruben Östlund for Triangle Of Sadness 

Best European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI 

  • 107 Mothers (Cenzorka) directed by Peter Kerekes (Slovakia/ Czech Republic/ Ukraine) 
  • Love According To Dalva (Dalva) directed by Emmanuelle Nicot (Belgium/ France) 
  • Other People (Inni Ludzie) directed by Aleksandra Terpińska (Poland/ France) 
  • Pamfir directed by Dmytro Sukholytkyy-Sobchuk (Ukraine/ France/ Poland/ Germany/ Chile) 
  • Small Body (Piccolo Corpo) directed by Laura Samani (Italy/ Slovenia/ France) 
  • Sonne directed by Kurdwin Ayub produced by Ulrich Seidl (Austria)

    Thank you for taking the time to read this article, do remember to come back and check out the EuroNews247 website for all your up-to-date European news stories.